A sweet quilt

August 4, 2008 at 12:09 am 3 comments

With a stolen hour or two here and there over the last two weeks, I made a baby quilt for a friend who is having a baby soon. I used this adorable fabric as my starting point. I decided to keep it very simple– I like a simple look these days, plus I didn’t have the time to do a lot of detailed piecing. The fabrics I found are so cute that the quilt didn’t need a lot of embellishment anyway. I used a colorful, delicate plaid fabric as a thick border on all four sides, and a dainty pastel alphabet fabric that I happened upon at Marden’s in Lewiston last month as the back.

I quilted the layers together by machine, so all in all this quilt took only a few hours to make. I’m very happy with the way it turned out, and I’ll definitely use this method again when I need to whip up a baby quilt quickly.

Entry filed under: sewing. Tags: , , , .

Inspiration Nature’s Bounty

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jen  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:13 am

    darling!! id love a tutotial ;)

    Reply
  • 2. jen  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:14 am

    tutorial i mean…

    Reply
  • 3. bittycakes  |  August 13, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Thanks, Jen!! I’ve been thinking about putting together a tutorial complete with photos and all, and this might be a good one to do since it’s pretty simple. I’ll shoot you an e-mail if I do it, thanks for the suggestion.

    In the meantime, I recommend this tutorial for putting together a small, basic quilt, which I used as a starting point for my latest quilt:

    http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/?p=531

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

