Sewing for Charity: Finished Quilt!

January 27, 2008 at 5:53 pm 3 comments

Things have been quiet on this blog for almost two weeks! I’ve been fighting off a nasty cold for the last few days, but I managed to finish a quilt for the Baby Blanket Drive over at Barakah Life. As I explained in an earlier post, Khadija at Barakah Life will be traveling to Mauritania, West Africa and hand-delivering all the handmade blankets she collects to new and expectant mothers there. Because her trip has been delayed until March, she has extended the deadline to February 29th, so there’s still time to get involved! Check out the website for details.

When I sat down to plan this quilt, I realized it’s been a long time since I last quilted. The last one I can remember doing was over seven years ago, now that I think about it. Making this one has renewed my interest, but it has also reminded me how much work is involved. For me, it’s most enjoyable to quilt when there’s no real time line involved– when I can just pick up and put down the project as I wish. I’ve decided my next quilting project will be a throw quilt for our living room, so I can finish it whenever I want to!

For this quilt, I experimented with an interesting way to piece together the front. The idea was to create a pattern more complex than a basic checkerboard pattern without any having to do any tricky sewing. I did this by piecing squares together in a basic checkerboard pattern, cutting up the pieces in various ways, rotating them, and sewing them back together. I’m not totally happy with the pattern that emerged, but I think I’m on to something. I just need to work on the method a bit more, and once I’ve figured it out I’ll post a tutorial.

In the past, I’ve always hand-tied my quilts, so I never actually quilted the front to the back before. I wanted to try it this time, because I love that bumpy, quilted look. I know myself, though, and I will never have the patience to do all that quilting by hand. So I machine-quilted for the first time! For my first time, I wanted to do something very simple, so I just quilted around the inside of each piece on the front, using the edge of my presser foot as a guide. It was quite simple to do, but it was surprisingly time-consuming. I can only imagine how long it would have taken to do by hand. It was worth the effort, though, because the finished effect is really lovely. I have read that machine-quilting should be done with a walking foot, but I didn’t have one so I just used my usual presser foot. Perhaps that’s why it took so long? Next time around, maybe I’ll buy a walking foot and see if that speeds up the process.

Without further ado, here are a couple of photos of the finished quilt:

baby-quilt-2.jpg

baby-quilt-4.jpg

Thanks again to Khadija at Barakah Life for organizing the drive. I’m so happy to have been involved.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Warning: Do Not Read This Yowza! I am one lucky gal.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori Seaborg  |  January 28, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Thanks for the heads up on the blanket drive. Sounds like a great project for the kids and I. Your quilt is so pretty! I love the purplish fabric, especially. Thanks for visiting my blog today.

    Reply
  • 2. Tiffany | Gimme Bliss  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    It’s so pretty! And I love the interesting pattern. I think that’s the mathy side of you coming out. ;-)

    And I’ve been sick, too! Hope you’re feeling better, and hoping that all this nastiness that seems to be afflicting everyone ends soon!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary-Laure  |  January 31, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    It’s really very very pretty, not to mention impressive – I’ve always hear that quilting is very challenging.
    The blanket drive sounds like a really wonderful project. I’ve lived in Africa as I may have mentioned before and I would love to get involved in such a project some time.
    Just imagine the adorable little babies who will be sleeping on this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

