A Belated Holiday Post, and More Sewing for Charity

December 30, 2007 at 8:59 pm 2 comments

I’ve been away from the blog too long!   I had a lovely holiday and I’m happy to report that most of the gifts I gave this year were things that I made by hand.   I ordered a few books, CDs, and DVDs from Amazon, but I actually made it through the Christmas season without setting foot in a single store (well, except for the craft store.)   In the weeks before Christmas, I managed not to stress myself out by trying to do too much, and it felt great.   It helped that I started sewing and crafting several weeks in advance.   My husband and I received many thoughtful gifts, and spent a great day with loved ones.   We are very lucky indeed.

I intended to photograph many of the gifts I made and post them after Christmas so as not to spoil the surprise.   (Aprons, and softies, and pillows, oh my!)    Unfortunately, that task became lost in the flurry of activity around here– hence the quietness of the blog lately.   I thought of a possible remedy today, inspired by this entry on the Sew, Mama, Sew blog.   If you received one of my handmade gifts this year, and you’re willing, take a snapshot of the gift being used in some way.   You can be in the picture if you want to, or you can play shy, whatever you like.   If you e-mail the picture to me, I’ll post it here.   (By the way, I still have a few tricks up my sleeve for some faraway and not-so-faraway friends too… let’s just extend the “holiday” season until the Chinese New Year.  That means I have until February 7th to send out a few more goodies!)

Lately I’ve noticed that much of the traffic this blog receives is from people using search engines to look for charity sewing projects and ending up at this post.   I LOVE that people are seeking out opportunities to give their time and creative talents to help others, and I want to be more helpful in that regard.   Here is a great project that I discovered today via Futuregirl’s Craft Blog :

barakahlife.gif

It’s a handmade baby blanket drive being organized by Khadija at Barakah Life.   If you can knit, crochet, or sew a blanket, then this is for you!   Khadija will be traveling to West Africa and hand-delivering all the handmade blankets to new and expectant mothers there.   If you’d like to send any wishes or prayers for the recipient, she will even create a special gift card for you and tie it to your blanket.   This is just the inspiration and motivation I needed to start a baby quilt.   (Check out the adorable blanket already crocheted by Futuregirl. )   What a wonderful way for a new life to begin– with a small good deed from someone on the other side of the world.   Happy crafting!

Entry filed under: sewing. Tags: , , .

Snow in The Suburbs Happy Coincidences

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. windseye  |  December 31, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Thanks for the comment! I can’t wait to have a look around your blog! :)

    Reply
  • 2. futuregirl  |  January 2, 2008 at 4:20 am

    This is a wonderful way to touch the life of someone half a world away. I feel so lucky to be a part of it. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

