I’m a Winner!

December 18, 2007 at 3:14 pm 3 comments

I won a giveaway on one of the cool blogs that I read, Small Fox in a Big World. I am so impressed by the generosity of bloggers who share the benefit of their talent and experience in the form of tutorials, patterns, and even their own work! That last link, by the way, is my prize. Yippee! Now I’m dreaming up my own giveaway… it will have to wait until after the holidays because I have way too much to do as it is, but stay tuned.

I’m still a sewing novice. I know my way around a sewing machine at this point, but it seems that almost everything I sew involves some kind of “first”– my first zipper, my first dart, my first bias strip. Because of this, I lack the ability to determine at the outset of a project whether it will be easy or difficult. Several projects I have started, thinking they would be simple, have turned out to be rather time-consuming and confusing. I grumble about it and then try to remind myself how quickly the project will come together the second time I do it.

Here is a project that actually was quick and easy, even the first time! It took only about an hour, including hand-stitching the eyes and mouth. (The rest is sewn by machine.) I made it from a pattern in the wonderful book, Softies, by Therese Laske. I had considered buying this book and then I saw it at Urban Outfitters last week for half price, so that was that. There are several cool projects in this book that I look forward to trying, and here is my first:
dollop4.jpg

Yes, it is what you think it is.

Okay, I guess it takes a certain sense of style and humor to appreciate this one. It also helps if you have a pet who leaves you little surprises around the house. See how nervous he looks? That’s because he knows how mad you’re going to be when you find him on your chair.

Entry filed under: softies. Tags: , , , .

Holiday Ornament Swap ’07 Snow in The Suburbs

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiffany | Gimme Bliss  |  December 20, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Um, how much do I LOVE that I have friends who make stuffed poo animals? And not that other Pooh animal, neither!

    That is awesome, Mer. I think it’s hilarious, and demon kitty should be scared.

    You know, you should design a quiz for people to determine whether they have it in them or not to craft. I am attracted to it, but I never plunge in because I fear my personality is really not well suited to crafting, and that I’ll buy a sewing machine and attempt to make curtains or something and then we’ll end up having a lot of “rags” with which to wash the car. I just don’t know if I could stick with it. Is it something you just know?

    I love your blog and added it to my “Favorite Sites” section…

    Reply
  • 2. bittycakes  |  December 30, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Heheheh. This one went over big– my brother’s girlfriend liked it so much she requested a little yellow friend for it for her birthday!

    Your question about crafting aptitude is an interesting one… I think if you’re drawn to it you should give it try, but start with something fairly quick and simple. If you want to try sewing, whip-stitching on felt is a good place to start because you don’t have to worry about turning your work inside-out, seam allowances, etc. This tutorial on how to whip-stitch might be a good place to start. For ideas on what to make using that technique, you could try this or this.

    If you enjoy simple hand sewing, then you might enjoy machine sewing too. I wouldn’t recommend starting with curtains, though! I find it difficult to sew anything with very long seams that need to be perfectly straight. You could try pillows first, instead.

    I hope that helps. Thanks for reading!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sam  |  January 19, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Oh . My . Gosh! That is sooo neat. I loves it. Must have a turd of my own!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

