Holiday Ornament Swap ’07

December 17, 2007 at 5:19 pm 3 comments

While stranded by some nasty winter weather this weekend, I crafted up a storm! I don’t dare post about most of my projects because they are Christmas presents and inquiring minds who read my blog will want to know.

Here’s something I can post about today. I mentioned a while back that I was participating in Cake+Pie and freshly{blended}‘s Holiday Ornament swap this year. I mailed mine out on Saturday, and here they are:

kokeshi.jpg

I designed these myself based on Japanese kokeshi. I have a small collection of kokeshi, and my mother suggested them as an alternative to the matryoshka ornaments I was thinking of doing, which, while very cute, seem to be everywhere at the moment.

They didn’t come out quite the way I’d imagined (as things seldom do), but I’m happy with them… and happy they’re done. Many thanks to my fellow swappers in Group 44… the ornaments I’ve received so far are fabulous, and it’s been so much fun opening those packages!! Once I’ve received all of them, I’ll post a collage.

Entry filed under: crafts. Tags: , , , , .

Thousand Words Thursday I’m a Winner!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim Davis  |  December 20, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Very cool! I love my ornament! Thanks so much, and it’s interesting to hear how you got the idea.

    Reply
  • 2. Louise Papas  |  December 21, 2007 at 2:16 am

    These are adorable!!! I did babushkas – great minds and all that…. This swap has been lots of fun hasn’t it.

    Reply
  • 3. bittycakes  |  December 30, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks, guys. The ornament swap was a lot of fun. I will definitely be on board for next year. It was neat to see what everyone came up with in my group. There were so many things I never would have thought of, so it was a great source of inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

