Made my first outfit!

December 1, 2007 at 4:22 pm 5 comments

Granted, it is for a doll. But it’s a start.

wee-jumper.jpg

Whew. This took me a LOT longer than I thought it would. I began with the Wee Wonderfuls jumper pattern, but I cut the skirt piece too short, so I had to improvise the pink ruffle on the bottom. The dark pink fabric is corduroy, which I’ve never used before. Once my sewing machine had its first taste of corduroy, it kept trying to eat it. The needle kept getting stuck and sewing lots of stitches in one spot. Whenever I tried to sew anywhere near the edge of the fabric, it frayed and then the seam opened. Ugh. This was also my first try at sewing darts and straps, or any type of clothing for that matter, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that it was such slow going.

I’m very happy with how it turned out, thank goodness. Tomorrow, I’ll give this doll and her new jumper to my niece for her birthday. Hopefully my rookie sewing can hold up to the abuse (err, I mean love) of a four-year-old!

wee-piano.jpg

Entry filed under: crafts, sewing, softies. Tags: , , , , .

Hardly Homemade with Meredith T Backpacks, Birthdays and Broadway!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thedomesticdiva  |  December 2, 2007 at 7:51 am

    oh…how adorable! Your niece is going to love it!

    Great job!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 2. bittycakes  |  December 3, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    thanks, Lisa!! thanks for all the great links in november too. i’m going to be working on a lot of those projects for months to come.

    Reply
  • 3. Di  |  December 3, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    I think the doll is great!! I have just started to contemplate using the sewing machine – drafting in some friends to give me some hints!!

    Reply
  • 4. Florence  |  December 27, 2007 at 4:10 am

    Your doll’s dress is gorgeous! Although, like you, I always think a project will only take an hour and am usually still there four hours later…I can imagine how long this must have taken as it’s got so much detailed work in it! I hope she liked it!

    Reply
  • 5. bittycakes  |  December 31, 2007 at 2:02 am

    Thanks, Florence! I’ve been enjoying the work on your blog too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

