I used to be a sweater…

November 19, 2007 at 8:42 pm 3 comments

…and now I’m a cozy pillow.

sweater-pillow1.jpg

I just love this pillow! Recently, one of my lambswool sweaters escaped my notice and ended up in the dryer. When I pulled it out, to my great disappointment, it was really fuzzy and too small for me to wear. I didn’t want to part with it, so I made this pillow.

It was a very simple project. I used my sewing machine for most of the sewing, so it took me less than an hour to complete. I cut out two pieces of the same size and shape from my sweater, put the right sides together, pinned, and sewed all sides together (leaving about four inches open for turning and stuffing.) Then I turned it right-side out, used a pencil to pop to corners out, and stuffed it with polyfill. Then I used a whipstitch to close the opening. Knit fabrics like this are very forgiving– there’s no need to stitch perfectly, because once you pull the stitches tight you can’t even see them.

I love settling in with a book and this pillow in the evening. It’s so soft and it’s just the right size (unlike the shrunken sweater!) As the holiday season approaches, which too often becomes a time of excess, I love knowing that I made something that otherwise would have been discarded into something that will have a place in my home for a long time to come.

Entry filed under: crafts, sewing. Tags: , , , , .

Work Barely in Progress — Sneak Peek! Finished Project!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindy  |  November 19, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Love it! Perfect fall colours!

    Reply
  • 2. bittycakes  |  December 3, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks, Lindy!

    Reply
  • 3. Laura  |  January 22, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Great idea to recylce old clothes!!
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

