Hooray for felt!

November 13, 2007 at 11:54 pm 5 comments

I am loving wool felt right now– the mottled look of it, the feel, and how easy it is to work with. I’d really like to make something useful with it. When I buy it, I’m thinking, “Wallet? Journal cover? Tote bag?” … but I keep ending up with little monsters…

Don’t call me practical.

Well, this guy does make me smile when I spot him grinning up at me. He reminds me of the time I spent in Japan, where cute little monsters abound. I think I was inspired by Domo-kun, a mascot who I often saw on TV in Japan and who I am now seeing in shops all over the place here in the U.S.

Next time, a change purse!

hakosan.jpg

Entry filed under: crafts, fabric, sewing, softies. Tags: , , .

The Save a Chair Foundation Fun With Freezer Paper

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raramac  |  November 14, 2007 at 12:29 am

    You have to check out Mazzalicious on Etsy! She does super fun things with felt too! Your little creature reminds me of her work…she has a flickr page too filled with her little creatures. You will crack up! I love your blog…It’s a gonna be great! P.S. I love to sew too…But I am not that great at it so I’ll come here for tips :)

    Reply
  • 2. bittycakes  |  November 14, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Thanks, Raramac… I did check out Mazzalicious, very cool. I LOVE those cloud badges especially.

    Reply
  • 3. rachaelrabbit.com  |  November 16, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Can I ask where you get your wool felt from? I love using 100% wool felt ….

    Reply
  • 4. bittycakes  |  November 18, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Hi RachealRabbit– I bought my wool at JoAnn’s, but unfortunately their color selection isn’t great. They do carry 100% wool, as well as several other combinations of wool and polyester, but often the color you want isn’t available in the combination you want (or at all). I’ve had my eye on the wool felt at colonialcrafts.com, but haven’t ordered any yet.

    Here’s the link:
    http://www.colonialcrafts.com/category/Wool_Felt/c1

    Reply
  • 5. rachaelrabbit.com  |  January 7, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Thank you so much for the info – I’ll be checking those out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

