I *heart* Hillary Lang

November 10, 2007 at 12:49 pm 1 comment

A few weeks ago, I bought the make-a-long pattern from Hillary Lang’s incredible website, Wee Wonderfuls. Hers is the first blog in my reader that I absolutely must read when it shows a new entry. She is so talented, and her work is just my style. I’ve been admiring her work and the work of others who use her patterns, and that’s been a part of what has inspired me to dust off my old machine and get going again. I’ve been trying to teach myself to sew for a long time, mostly without the help of a pattern (see my last entry, a project that I just “winged”). I finally decided to buy one of Hillary’s patterns though because I haven’t really been able to sew three-dimensional objects very well. My hope is that by following the patterns of some of my favorite artists, I’ll be able to gain the skills I need to improve my own designs.

Now that I’ve made my first doll using Hillary’s pattern, I have to say, she is so cute and was so much fun to make that I don’t want to stop! Here’s a picture of my first attempt. I’m not sure if she’s quite done: I might add a collar or buttons to the front of her dress and some kind of embellishment to her shoes. But she’s lovely the way she is. Hillary, you rock.

marguerite.jpg

Entry filed under: crafts, sewing, softies. Tags: , , , , .

Sewing for Charity Part 1, Softies for Mirabel The Save a Chair Foundation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Magik Quilter  |  November 11, 2007 at 8:09 am

    Bittycakes, you surely aren’t going to give her away? She is sooo gorgeous. Tell me you are going to make lots more but keep her!!!!!!!

    Although I should talk as I love my things when I’m sewing them but love them more when they find a good home.

    I’m going to check out those patterns myself. I like how quirky she is. And I adore her hair.

    I collect old clip on earrings from op shops which I use for brooches etc….although not obviously if the dolls are going to children. I also find the tiny pins from some charities make cute embellishments. Also the tiny bears that some charities use are cute for dolls to hold.

    Anyway great work, I’m loving your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

