Spring: Sprung!

April 26, 2009 at 7:53 pm 1 comment

buds

vinca

Lilac buds and vinca flowers in my backyard

The winter, which was a difficult one, has finally given way to spring. It feels like a good time to start new things. Instead of huddling indoors or inside my own head, it’s time to get outside, to build, to create.

First on my list was to create a salad table. If you’re wondering what that is, check out the University of Maryland’s website, Grow It Eat It, which explains how to build your own salad table and has lots of tips on planting and harvesting lettuce greens and herbs. The table is movable, so you can give your greens direct sunlight in the spring, move them into the shade for the heat of summer, and back into direct sunlight for the fall. We did have several types of greens in our vegetable garden last year but they didn’t fare very well, and I’m hoping that I’ll have better luck with a salad table this year.

Yesterday, I painted the table a bright robin’s egg blue. I just planted this morning, so nothing is growing yet, but here’s a “before” photo:

salad-table

Today I had my first taste of food from our garden. Our collard greens from last year’s planting are up and ready to eat. They’re not very big, but I say let’s just call them microgreens and dig in!

collards

I prepared some using this method from Gourmet.com, which worked great. A little olive oil, garlic, butter beans and vinegar and I had a delicious lunch. I can get used to this.

lunch


Entry filed under: gardening. Tags: , , .

Happy Easter! Fresh

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sebastian  |  May 6, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    nice photography meredith!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

