Marble Magnet Mania!

November 27, 2007 at 8:40 pm 4 comments

I love making marble magnets.  I discovered these around this time last year, and I made quite a few of them as Christmas gifts.  The best part about making these as gifts is that you can really personalize them by using pictures that suit the recipient.  You could also draw your own pictures or use your own photos, which I haven’t tried yet.

The best tutorial I have found on making marble magnets is on the Not Martha website.  There are just a few things I would add: 

(1) Before you glue on the glass gems, hold them up to the light and make sure they don’t have imperfections in them.  Discard (or find another use for) the ones with too many imperfections– you won’t be able to see your pictures through them.

(2) I used Aileen’s Tacky Glue for this project and it worked really well (and has held up well in the year since I made my first marble magnets.)

(3) This year I used stickers as well as digital collage sheets and they worked great!  I did glue the stickers to the background to make sure that they stayed put.  If you search etsy for digital collages with 3/4 inch circles, you may find some pictures that you like and save yourself some time looking through magazines for pictures to use.  Once you purchase a digital file (they cost about $3 each), you own it and can print it as many times as you like (although the seller may specify that you cannot use them for mass produced goods.)  I used some from Piddix’s etsy shop, that’s a good place to start looking.

Here’s a sneak peek at this year’s marble magnet creations (I still haven’t figured out how to take good pictures of these)…

magnet-6-in.jpg

On an unrelated note, I was excited to see some photos of the toys collected for the Mirabel Foundation at Meet Me at Mike’s blog today: here’s a link to the entry.  I was able to spot my little guy amidst all those fabulous toys (if you click on the first photo to enlarge it, he’s in the top row, fourth from the left.)  I wish I could jet to Australia to check out the display!

Entry filed under: crafts. Tags: , , , , .

Good times and pies were had by all. Hardly Homemade with Meredith T

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindy  |  November 28, 2007 at 4:18 am

    ooh they’re very cute

    Reply
  • 2. Magik Quilter  |  November 28, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Wish you could jet here then you could cover a few chairs for me………ha ha ……..you could pick up some fabric too.

    Reply
  • 3. bittycakes  |  December 3, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    thanks, lindy! they’re so easy to make. i just wish i could figure out how to take better pictures of them.

    Reply
  • 4. bittycakes  |  December 3, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    magik quilter, i would LOVE to go to Australia! that’s one of my *someday* trips!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

